Meetings

From e-Learning Documentation

Jump to: navigation, search

The Meetings tool uses a product called "Big Blue Button" to create a synchronous communications meeting room with audio/video/text capabilities. These meeting rooms can accommodate up to 100 participants and can be recorded for future viewing. The instructor can share files or his/her desktop during the session. There are breakout rooms for smaller, private conversations. Meeting rooms may be made "public" and shared with people who are not enrolled in the course or site.

Contents

Create a Meeting

Meeting Information

  1. Click Meetings in the course toolbar
  2. Click Create Meeting at the top of the page
  3. Title: Provide a Title for the Meeting room
    1. Description: (Optional) Provide a Description that will be displayed when participants join the meeting.
  4. Recording: Check the box if you want the meeting to be recorded. NOTE: The recording is automatic. It begins as soon as someone enters the room and ends a few minutes after the last person leaves the room. The instructor does not have the option to manually begin and/or end the recording.
  5. Meeting Duration: Enter a number in minutes. NOTE: This number does not limit the meeting in any way. It is strictly information.

Participants

You may specify this meeting room to be available to the entire course, OR to specific people or groups. The default is that all people enrolled in the course will have access. The person creating the Meeting room is the Moderator and all others are Attendees. To choose specific people:

  1. Change the "Add participant:" drop-down window to "User." The next drop-down window displays a list of all participants.
    1. Select the person and click Add. The person will be added to the Participant list as an "Attendee."
      1. If desired, use the drop-down menu beside the person's name to change the person to a Moderator.

If your course has groups created, you may add a group or groups as well as individual people.

  1. Change the "Add participant:" drop-down window to "Group." The next drop-down window displays a list of all groups.
    1. Select the group and click Add. The group will be added to the Participant list as an "Attendee."
      1. If desired, use the drop-down menu beside the group's name to make every person in the group a moderator.

Availability

By default, the Meeting will be available immediately upon creation and will remain available. But you may specify an open and/or close date by checking the box(es) and using the calendar icon to insert a date and time. Checking the "Add to Calendar" box sends the open and/or close date to the Calendar.

Notification

Check the "Notify participants:" box if you want an email to be sent to all participants advising them of the availability of this Meeting.

Click Save

Participate in a Meeting

  1. Click the title of the Meeting
    • A new tab opens for the meeting room.
  2. A box pops up asking permission to access camera and microphone. Click Allow.
  3. "Audio Settings" allows you to test your microphone, webcam, and speakers to make sure they are functioning properly. Follow the instructions to test each component you are using. Unless you change your devices, once you test them you shouldn't need to do it everytime. Click Join Audio.
    • A short tutorial opens giving you basic information on how use the system. Watch the video for the "Moderator/Presenter" to learn how to manage your meeting.

Manage Recordings

If you created the Meeting to automatically record, the recording will automatically begin when users enter the Meeting and will automatically end a few minutes after the last person leaves the Meeting. The recording will take some time to render - typically 1:2 - if the meeting was one hour long, expect it to take two hours to render the recording. But it could take longer. Don't assume the recording didn't work until you've given it at least eight hours to appear.

  1. Click the Recordings button at the top of the page
    • Recordings are listed with the most recent at the top of the list. Since each Meeting can be used multiple times, you may see several recordings for a Meeting room.

Click either Presentation or Video to view.

  1. Hover over the title of the recording to reveal the "hide" or "delete" options.
    1. "Hide" hides the recording from participants other than those with instructor-type access.
    2. "Delete" permanently deletes the recording and it is not recoverable.
Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox