Sign Up

From e-Learning Documentation

Jump to: navigation, search

Last updated: 10-14-2011

Contents

Overview

Sign-Up is a tool that allows participants to sign-up for events on a calendar - such as a time to give a presentation, schedule time with instructor, etc. While the tool is intended for use in calendaring, it can be used to allow students to self-select into groups. The Instructor will then have to manually create the groups and insert the participants into the groups.

NOTE: The Sign-Up tool is a new option in Fall 2011. If you have a course that was created prior to the addition of this tool, you will be able to add the tool to the toolbar, but you must contact e-Learning Support Services (352-392-4357 option 3) to set up the permissions. You will not be able to see the tool on your toolbar until the permissions are set.

The Sign-up Tool allows you to create three different types of events/meetings:

Create a Multiple Slots event/meeting

  1. ClickAdd at the top of the page.
  2. Fill in all the data fields on this page
  3. Under "Meeting Type:" enter the number of slots available for sign-up and how many participants can sign-up for each time slot.
  4. Click Next
  5. If you are satisfied with the current settings:
    • Click Publish to publish the event/meeting.
    • Or click Cancel to go back to main page. (All data will be lost.)
    • Or you may click Assign Participants & Publish to pre-assign participants to the event/meeting. In this circumstance, it is not open for students to sign-up, but you assign the students to their time slot.
    1. Click Add and select a participant from the drop-down menu.
    2. Click OK to add the participant.
    3. Click Publish to complete the process. You will return to the main page, where you can see the newly published event/meeting.

Modify a meeting

From the main Sign-Up tool page:

  1. Click the title of the Meeting
  2. Click Modify at the top left of the screen
  3. Make your changes
  4. Click Publish Modifications to save your changes

Remove a Meeting

From the main page of the Sign-Up tool:

  1. Check the "Remove" box to the far right of the Meeting Title.
  2. Click Remove Meetings

Lock or cancel a time slot

Lock/Unlock

If you want to stop participants from being able to sign-up for the meeting, you may lock it. Those who signed up before the Meeting was locked may still cancel their sign-up.

From the main page in the Sign-Up tool:

  1. Click the title of the Meeting
  2. Click the Time Slot that you want to lock
  3. Click the "Lock - prevent participant sign-up" link. This is a toggle link. One click locks the timeslot, another click unlocks it.


Cancel/Restore

If you Cancel a time slot, all participants associated with that time slot will be removed (including those on the wait list), and participants can no longer sign up. Restore will reopen this time slot but it will not restore the former participants. From the main page in the Sign-Up tool:

  1. Click the title of the Meeting
  2. Click the Time Slot
  3. Click the "Cancel - delete the timeslot" link. This is a toggle link. One click cancels the timeslot, another click restores it.
Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox