End of Semester

From e-Learning Documentation

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Unpublish your Course)
(Unpublish your Course)
Line 8: Line 8:
==Unpublish your Course==
==Unpublish your Course==
-
As long as your course remains published, students will be able to access it.  When you unpublish a course, the tab goes away for enrolled students and other roles such as "Grader." To remove access to the course and its content from students :
+
As long as your course remains published, students will be able to access it.  When you unpublish a course, the tab goes away for enrolled students and other roles such as "Grader." To remove access to the course and it's content, from students:
# Click '''Site Info''' in the left menu bar.
# Click '''Site Info''' in the left menu bar.
# Click '''Manage Access''' in the top menu bar.
# Click '''Manage Access''' in the top menu bar.

Revision as of 19:09, 23 April 2011

At the end of each term, you will want to perform certain tasks to close out your course. There is no "backup" of individual courses in Sakai, so you will want to save at least your gradebook to your computer. At some point, Learning Support Services will probably adopt a policy to delete old sections after a certain number of semesters. But until that happens, you will always have access to your old semesters. (If you have a role with less authority than the Instructor, it is possible that the Instructor could unenroll you after the end of the semester, or if the Instructor unpublishes the old course, your role may not have authority to enter an unpublished course).

Contents

Submit Grades to Grade-A-Gator

  1. Before you export your final grades, be sure to check Tests & Quizzes for any submissions that are still in progress. See Known Issues.
  2. See the Gradebook tutorial or the Gradebook 2 tutorial for instructions on downloading grades to submit to Grade-A-Gator.

NOTE: It is important that you download the correct gradebook. Gradebook 2 has functions that are not available in Gradebook (extra credit, dropping lowest scores, weighting items within categories, etc.). The calculation of grades may differ across Gradebook and Graedbook 2.

Unpublish your Course

As long as your course remains published, students will be able to access it. When you unpublish a course, the tab goes away for enrolled students and other roles such as "Grader." To remove access to the course and it's content, from students:

  1. Click Site Info in the left menu bar.
  2. Click Manage Access in the top menu bar.
  3. Uncheck the "Publish site" box.
  4. Click Update

Unenroll Other Instructor Roles

If you do not want Teaching Assistants, or other Instructor-type roles to have access to the course once the semester is over, unenroll them:

  1. Click Site Info in the left menu bar.
  2. In the Participant List, check the box at the far right beside the name of the person(s) you want to remove.
  3. Click Update Participants

Download Your Gradebook

You will want to download your gradebook as a backup.

In Gradebook

  1. Click Gradebook in the left menu bar.
  2. Click All Grades in the top menu bar.
  3. Click Export for Excel.

In Gradebook 2

  1. Click Gradebook 2 in the left menu bar.
  2. Click Tools at the top of the screen.
  3. Choose Export > Grades & Structure > as Excel 97/2000/XP (.xls)

Remove the Course from Your Active Tabs

When you are done with this course, you can remove it from your active tabs. You can always retrieve it if you want to enter the course again in the future.

Go to "My Workspace" and click Preferences. You will find instructions for customizing the tabs.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox