Lessons

From e-Learning Documentation

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Add Content)
 
(One intermediate revision not shown)
Line 51: Line 51:
* Title the content section.
* Title the content section.
* If there are specific instructions for this piece of content, add them to the "Instructions" box.
* If there are specific instructions for this piece of content, add them to the "Instructions" box.
-
* Choose the modality - what kind of content are you adding? Check ALL that apply (for example, a video would be both visual and auditory).
+
* Choose the modality - You can ignore this option.
-
** Textual content - PDF, Word (with no images in it), Excel spread sheet (no images)
+
-
** Visual content - PowerPoint, Documents with images, links to websites
+
-
** Auditory content - any content that has sound, such as mp3 recordings, videos with sound
+
* Choose the content type - how will you add the content?
* Choose the content type - how will you add the content?
** Compose content with editor - opens the Content Editor allowing you to create HTML documents.
** Compose content with editor - opens the Content Editor allowing you to create HTML documents.
*** Create your document and click '''Add'''
*** Create your document and click '''Add'''
** Upload or link to a file - upload a file from your computer, or link to a file that already exists in the Lessons inventory.
** Upload or link to a file - upload a file from your computer, or link to a file that already exists in the Lessons inventory.
-
** Link to new or existing URL resource on server - link to any content on the internet, including files in the Resources tool.
+
** Link to new or existing URL resource on server - link to any content on the internet, including files in the Resources tool. '''NOTE:''' If you link to files in Resources, at the end of the semester when the content is migrated to a new course, the files in Resources will be ''copied'' into the Lessons File Manager.  In general, this is a very nice feature.  The problem occurs if you are linking to HTML files in Resources that themselves, link to other files in Resources.  The HTML file gets migrated to Lessons File Manager, but the other files that are linked within the document do not.  The links will not be valid in the new course because the new students do not have access to the old course.  The way to fix this problem is to place the linked files within a place that is publicly viewable.  A good solution is to create a project site and house the files there, making them "publicly viewable."  That way, no matter what course links to the files, they will be viewable by students. 
*** The options "Upload or link to a file" and "Link to new or existing URL resource on server"  will give you a Select [[File:select.png]] link  
*** The options "Upload or link to a file" and "Link to new or existing URL resource on server"  will give you a Select [[File:select.png]] link  
*** Click '''Select''' to take you to a screen where you can upload a file from your computer.
*** Click '''Select''' to take you to a screen where you can upload a file from your computer.

Latest revision as of 14:25, 4 September 2012

Last updated: 9-04-2012

Contents

Overview

Lessons tool is for displaying content to students in a structured form. Each Lessons module can provide an introductory paragraph, links to documents, websites, audio and video recordings, and a "Next Steps" paragraph instructing students what to do when they have completed the module. The content is easily navigated by way of a Table of Contents and Prev and Next buttons at the top of the page. You can elect to display modules during specific date ranges.

When you click on Lessons in the left menu bar, you will see four bullet points at the top of the page.

Note: The preference to show as expanded or collapsed is specific to each user. While you can set Lessons to show as expanded, a student can set her preferences to show as collapsed.

Manage Content

Video.jpg Video Tutorial

Lessons tool has its own file manager. The files you will add to your modules do not have to be uploaded to Resources. You may want to add your files to the Lessons file manager prior to building your modules. You can upload up to 10 at one time by going directly to the file manager and uploading the files there. When you then create the modules, the files will already be there available to add.

At the top of the Lessons page:

  1. Click Manage
  2. Click Manage Content
  3. Leave "Add Item Type" at the default of "File Upload"
  4. Change the "Number of items to Upload" to "10" or whatever number you have to upload.
  5. Click Continue
    • You will see as many "Chose File" buttons as you requested.
  6. Click Choose File to locate the file on your computer. Repeat this step for each file you want to upload. The Choose File button will return you to the folder where you found the last file, so if your files for the course are organized into one folder or area, uploading 10 files will be quick and easy.
  7. When you've chosen all the files, click Continue

The files are now located in your Lessons file manager. Repeat Steps 4-7 until all files are uploaded.

Create and Manage Modules

From the "Author" view:

Add Content

A Content Section is like a container for a piece of content - either a file or a link to web content. Rather than just having a link to a file name, the Content Section can provide a title, instructions, copyright information, etc.

Edit a Module

Once modules and content are created, you can go back and edit at any time.

Right (Indent) and Left (Outdent)

Moving content left and right can further organize your content. Here is an example of using right indention to make the two pieces of content "Mary Leakey" and "Richard Leakey" appear under the heading "The Leakey Family.":

x

To indent (move right) or outdent (move left) content:

Sort

Sort allows you to reorder the content. You can sort the modules, or the content within the modules. To sort:

Move Sections

This option allows you to move content from one module to another.

Delete

Delete permanently removes content. The content is also removed from the Lessons inventory.

Archive

Modules can be archived. They are removed from the list of available modules, but can be restored from the archive for later use. Modules are archived as a whole. Individual content items cannot be archived.

Restore an archived module

Grant Special Access

Suppose you have created modules that are only available for a specific period of time, but a student missed that availability window with a legitimate excuse and you want to allow that one student access to the expired content. To grant access:

  1. Click the "Special Access" icon Assessments-special-access.png
  2. Click Add
  3. From the scrolling list of names, select the person/people you want to give access
  4. Enter a start date and end date
    1. Click the calendar icon
    2. Set the time using the drop-down windows first
    3. Then click the date
  5. Click Done
Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox