New Semester

From e-Learning Documentation

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Publish Your Course)
(Publish Your Course)
Line 15: Line 15:
==Publish Your Course==
==Publish Your Course==
-
Your course is created as "unpublished" to allow you to make any changes you want to make before permitting students into the course. Visit the [http://lss.at.ufl.edu/help| Main tutorial page] to see tutorials on all the tools available to you.  Once you are ready for students to access the course:
+
Your course is created as "unpublished" to allow you to make any changes you want to make before permitting students into the course. Visit the [http://lss.at.ufl.edu/help| Main tutorial page] to see tutorials on all the tools available to you.  Note especially the tutorial on [[Resources]].  Be aware that files you place in Resources are, by default, available to student so you do not want to place sensitive information in this location. 
 +
 
 +
Once you are ready for students to access the course:
# Click '''Site Info''' in the course menu bar.
# Click '''Site Info''' in the course menu bar.
# Click '''Manage Access''' at the top of the page.
# Click '''Manage Access''' at the top of the page.
# Check the box beside "publish site" and click '''Update'''.
# Check the box beside "publish site" and click '''Update'''.

Revision as of 21:41, 18 November 2010

Once you Request your course for a new semester, you will have some tasks to complete to prepare the course for use:

Contents

Import Content from a Previous Semester

Go here for complete instructions on how to import your content.

Associate Class Rosters

Go here for a tutorial on how to associate your rosters with your course so that students are loaded.

Enroll TAs or other Participants

Your students are loaded automatically when you associate the rosters. But you will need to add your TA(s) or other non-student roles that you want to have access to your course. Go here for a complete tutorial on adding and managing TAs or other participants.

Publish Your Course

Your course is created as "unpublished" to allow you to make any changes you want to make before permitting students into the course. Visit the Main tutorial page to see tutorials on all the tools available to you. Note especially the tutorial on Resources. Be aware that files you place in Resources are, by default, available to student so you do not want to place sensitive information in this location.

Once you are ready for students to access the course:

  1. Click Site Info in the course menu bar.
  2. Click Manage Access at the top of the page.
  3. Check the box beside "publish site" and click Update.
Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox