Sign Up

From e-Learning Documentation

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Overview)
Line 3: Line 3:
== Overview ==
== Overview ==
-
A tool that allows users to organize office hours, review sessions, study groups and similar activities.
+
Sign-Up is a tool that allows participants to sign-up for events on a calendar - such as a time to give a presentation, schedule time with instructor, etc.  While the tool is intended for use in calendaring, it can be used to allow students to self-select into groups.  The Instructor will then have to manually create the groups and insert the participants into the groups.
-
Different event types are used for creating a new event/meeting
+
The Sign-up Tool allows you to create three different types of events/meetings:
-
 
+
-
The Sign-up Tool allows you to create three different types of events/meetings. The types are defined as follows:  
+
-
 
+
-
#'''Multiple Slots''': The meeting is segmented into multiple time slots. The participant is required to sign up.
+
-
#'''Single Slot''': There is a single time slot for an event/meeting; the number of participants can be limited or unlimited and the participant is required to sign up.
+
-
#'''Open meeting''' (no sign-up required)
+
 +
*'''Multiple Slots''': The meeting is segmented into multiple time slots. For example, an hour-long class period has time for four fifteen-minute presentations.  The participant chooses a time slot for his/her presentation.
 +
*'''Single Slot''': There is a single time slot for an event/meeting.  For example, a class is using a computer lab to take an exam.  Thirty people can use the computer lab at one time.  There are 90 people in the class.  The instructor sets up three computer lab sessions and asks the participants to choose which lab time they want.
 +
*'''Open meeting''' No sign-up is required.
== How to create a Multiple Slots event/meeting ==
== How to create a Multiple Slots event/meeting ==

Revision as of 20:20, 14 October 2011

Last updated: 10-14-2011

Contents

Overview

Sign-Up is a tool that allows participants to sign-up for events on a calendar - such as a time to give a presentation, schedule time with instructor, etc. While the tool is intended for use in calendaring, it can be used to allow students to self-select into groups. The Instructor will then have to manually create the groups and insert the participants into the groups.

The Sign-up Tool allows you to create three different types of events/meetings:

How to create a Multiple Slots event/meeting

  1. Navigate to the Sign-up Tool main page
  2. Click the Add link on the top menu bar and you will advance to the next page, "Create New Meeting: Basic Information."
  3. Fill in all the data fields on this page
  4. Select the Multiple Slots radio button
  5. Click the Next button to continue to the next page, "Meeting Summary"
  6. If you are satisfied with the current settings
    • You can click the Publish button to publish the event/meeting and it will appear on the main page.
    • Or click the Cancel button to go back to main page and all your data will be lost.
    • Or if you want to pre-assign some participants to the event/meeting, click the Assign Participants & Publish button to go to the next page, "Assign Participants."
      1. Click Assign Participants & Publish to advance to the page, "Assign Participants"
      2. Click the Add button and select a participant from the dropdown.
      3. Click OK to add the participant.
      4. Click the Publish button to complete the process. You will return to the main page, where you can see the newly published event/meeting.


How to modify a meeting

  1. Navigate to the Sign-up Tool main page
  2. Click the title of the Meeting Title
  3. Click "Modify" located in the top left
  4. Modify the settings
    • Click Publish Modification to save the settings
    • Click Cancel to undo any changes made


How to remove a meeting

  1. Navigate to the Sign-up Tool main page
  2. Click the checkbox in the Remove column located on the right corresponding to the meeting you would like to remove
  3. Click Remove Meetings button


Lock or cancel a time slot

Lock/Unlcok

Once the time slot is locked, participants can no longer sign up; however they can cancel their appointment. Unlock reopens the time slot. How To:

  1. Navigate to the Sign-up Tool main page
  2. Click the title of the Meeting Title
  3. Click the Time Slot
  4. A link "lock this time slot Lock - prevent participant sign-up" should appear
  5. Click the link to toggle


Cancel/Restore

Once the time slot is cancelled, all participants associated with that time slot will be removed (including those on the wait list), and participants can no longer sign up or add themselves to the wait list. Restore will reopen this time slot but it will not restore the former participants. How To:

  1. Navigate to the Sign-up Tool main page
  2. Click the title of the Meeting Title
  3. Click the Time Slot
  4. A link "Cancel - delete the timeslot" should appear
  5. Click the link to toggle
    • You will be able to Restore the timeslot, but remember that all Participants were removed when the timeslot was cancelled.
Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox