Site Info

From e-Learning Documentation

Revision as of 13:45, 22 October 2010 by Jolaine (Talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Overview

Site Info is the tool that allows for the control of many aspects of the course. This tool cannot be removed from the Toolbar because if its importance to the course. In this tool, you can select which tools to use in the course, which tools to display to students, create and manage groups, add participants and bring in content from other courses in which you are an Instructor.

You will see here the content that is on your Home Page. Beneath that content you will see a list of all course participants, including the Role and Status. Beneath the list of Participants is a brief description of each of the Roles. A much more complete and accurate description of roles can be found at Participants - Overview of all Roles

While Site Info is valuable to instructors, there is little of value to students. Many instructors choose to hide the tool from the students. See "Page Order" for instructions on hiding tools.

Edit Site Information

This option allows you to edit information that is displayed to the students on your Home Page. This is identical to clicking on Options on the Home Page and making your edits there. But within "Edit Site Information" you can also edit certain information such as a contact information. If all contact information is provided elsewhere in the course, students get no added benefit from seeing the Site Info tool.

Another option that could be of value here is if you are in a Project Site instead of a Course. Project Sites can be "joinable" and appear on a list of all site that people can join. You may add a "Short Description" of no more than 80 characters that will let prospective participants know what your site is about so they can decide if they want to join.

Edit Tools

Some tools are provided in every course created, but there are other tools available for your use. A description of each tool is at: Tools - Overview of all Available Tools. "Edit Tools" allows you to choose which tools to use in your course. Simply check the box beside the tool(s) you want to add and uncheck the box beside the tool(s) you want to remove. Click Continue. You see the tools listed, click Finish.

Web Links

If you choose "Web Links" you will get an additional screen after you click "Continue." You will be asked to give a "Title" to the tool. This Title is what will appear in the course tool bar so brevity is important. You will also be asked to provide the URL (Web Address) to the website where this tool will point. In another tab or browser, go to the website, copy the URL and paste it into the box labeled "[missing key: multiple tools source]." Click Continue. You see the tools listed, including your new Web Link, click Finish.

RSS Feeds

If you choose "RSS Feeds" you will get an additional screen after you click "Continue." You will be asked to give a "Title" to the tool. This Title is what will appear in the course tool bar so brevity is important. You will also be asked to provide the URL (Web Address) to the website where this RSS Feed will point. Many news website offer a list of RSS Feed links. For example, CNN.com has an "RSS" link at the bottom of the Home Page. Here you find a list of URLs for the various news topics. Copy the URL and paste it into the box labeled "[missing key: multiple tools channel-url]." Click Continue. You see the tools listed, including your new RSS Feed, click Finish.

Page Order

When you click this link, you will see a list of all the tools that you are utilizing in this course. This option allows you to reorder the tools in the course toolbar, hide tools and edit the name of a tool.

Reorder Tools

To move a tool to a different place in the list, hold down the left mouse button and drag it to the location where you want it to be. Release the mouse button to drop the tool in that location. NOTE: By default, "Home" is at the top of the list. If you place a different tool at the top of the list, that tool will replace the Home Page as the first thing students see when they go into your course. This is not recommended!

Hide Tools from Students

There are time when you may want to hide a tool or tools from students, but still make it available for your own use. An example might be the Site Info tool, which is of little value to students. You also want to hide one of the Gradebook tools from the students to avoid confusion. If you are using the Resources tool for your own use rather than for distributing files to students, you will hide that tool also. Site Stats is another example of a tool that you might want for your own use, but not allow students to access.

To hide a tool from the students, click the lightbulb icon beside the tool name.

Edit the Name of the Tool

You should be very cautious about renaming tools. While you might think that you want to rename the "Assignments" tool to be called "Homework Submissions," it could create problems for the students. If a student calls the Help Desk asking for assistance with the "Homework Submissions" tool, Help Desk staff will not know how to assist the student. If the student goes to tutorials for help in using this tool, he won't be able to find a tutorial on "Homework Submissions" tool. When you reuse content from one semester to another, the tool in the new course will not retain the name you gave it, but will revert to its system name.

If you still want to change the name of the tool, click the pencil icon beside the tool name. In the Title box, type the name and then click the green check mark.

Add Participants

While all students registered for your class through the Registrar will be automatically loaded, you may want to enroll additional users as Teaching Assistants, Designers, Observers, etc. To enroll participants:

  1. Click Add Participants at the top of the "Site Info" page.
  2. Enter the gatorlink username or the UFID in the box. To enter more than one participant, hit "Enter" after each entry.
  3. Are all participants going to receive the same role?
    • If yes, leave the "Participant Roles" set to the default "Assign all participants to the same role. When you click Continue you will see a screen where you can select the role.
    • If not, select "Assign each participant a role individually." When you click Continue you will see a screen where each user will be listed and you can select a different role for each user.
  4. Click Continue
  5. If you want to alert these participants that they are no enrolled in the course, change the default from "Don't Send" to "Send Now."
  6. On the confirmation page, verify that the users and their roles are correct and click Finish.

Change a Participant's Role

Perhaps you want to change a user from a Designer role to a Teaching Assistant role. On the "Site Info" page list of participants, locate the person's name. In the "Role" drop-down menu, select the new role. Click Update Participants at the bottom of the list.

Make a Participant Inactive

You are not able to remove a student who is enrolled through the Registrar's office, but you can make that person "Inactive," denying access to the site. When you make someone "Inactive," all his/her submissions and grades will be removed, but will reappear if the status is returned to "Active."

On the "Site Info" page list of participants, locate the person's name. In the "Status" drop-down menu, choose "Inactive." Click Update Participants at the bottom of the list.

Remove a Participant

You are not able to remove a student who is enrolled through the Registrar's office, but you may remove other users that you have added, such as CE Students, Teaching Assistants, Facilitators, etc. On the "Site Info" page list of participants, locate the person's name and check the box in the "Remove" column. Click Update Participants at the bottom of the list.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox